U.S. Figure Skating/PSA Annual Coaching Awards
Nomination Procedure and Criteria

Every year, U.S. Figure Skating and the Professional Skaters Association (PSA) recognize exceptional coaching achievement through the annual coaching awards. This is a function of the U.S. Figure Skating Coaches Committee and the PSA Board of Governors.

Nominations subcommittee
Following the ISU World Figure Skating Championships in March, members of the awards nominations subcommittee will participate in a conference call to nominate coaches for the coach of the year, developmental coach of the year, choreographer of the year, and sports science coaching awards. Appointees for the nominations subcommittee are members of the U.S. Figure Skating Coaches Committee, PSA Board of Directors, coaching members of the U.S. Figure Skating Board of Directors, and staff members of U.S. Figure Skating and the PSA. The subcommittee will consist of seven to nine members and represent all four disciplines (singles, pairs, dance and synchronized) and all three sections.

Nominees and criteria
Nominees for all four awards are selected using specific criteria (see attached). There is no set number of nominees for each award, but the Coach of the Year and Developmental Coach of the Year awards must have at least one nominee from each discipline (singles, pairs, dance and synchronized).

The ballot
All nominees for all four awards are put on a ballot, which is sent to all members of the Coaches Committee of US Figure Skating and the PSA Board of Governors. In addition, the choreographer of the year award ballot is sent to the International Committee and the sports science coaching award ballot is sent to the Sports Sciences and Medicine Committee. Ballots detail coaching records for the appropriate season as well as other award criteria.

Determining the winners
Votes are tabulated by the U.S. Figure Skating office to determine the award winners. Nominees are announced at Governing Council and the winners are announced and honored at the PSA International Conference at the end of May. Winners of the coach of the year, developmental coach of the year and sports science coaching award are then nominated for the USOC coaching awards in December.

Coach of the Year Presented to a coach who has made a significant impact on an athlete's performance and has distinguished themselves through years of successful teaching culminating in a special career achievement during the past year.

2015 Rafael Arutyunyan 2005 Igor Shpilband 1997 Frank Carroll
2014 Marina Zoueva 2004 Priscilla Hill 1996 Carol Heiss Jenkins
2013 Christy Krall 2003 Lynn Benson 1995 Richard Callaghan
2012 John Nicks 2002 Robin Wagner 1994 Peter Dunfield
2011 Igor Shpilband & 2001 Frank Carroll 1993 Evy & Mary Scotvold
Marina Zoueva 2000 Frank Carroll 1992 Christy K. Ness
2009 Tom Zakrajsek 1999 Audrey Weisiger 1991 John Nicks
2008 Dalilah Sappenfield 1998 Igor Shpilband  1990 Ron Ludington
2007 Vicki Korn Elizabeth Coates
2006 Pam Gregory

Paul McGrath Choreographer of the Year Award The Paul McGrath Award for Choreographer of the Year is given each year to the choreographer who best exemplifies the dedication to artistic excellence that was portrayed by Paul McGrath in his coaching and choreography. The Professional Skaters Association Board of Directors, the U.S. Figure Skating Coaches Committee and the U.S. Figure Skating International Committee select the Choreographer of Year each spring.

2015 Rohene Ward 2008 Lori Nichol 1999 Lee Ann Miller
2014 Marina Zoueva 2007 Braden Overett 1998 Lori Nichol
2013 Tom Dickson 2006 Tom Dickson 1997 Peter Oppegard
2012 Pasquale Camerlengo 2005 Igor Shpilband 1996 Lori Nichol
2011 Igor Shpilband 2004 Tom Dickson 1995 Jill Cosgrove
Marina Zoueva 2003 Tom Dickson 1994 Brian Wright
2010 Igor Shpilband 2002 Tom Dickson 1993 Sara Kawahara
Marina Zoueva 2001 Lori Nichol 1992 Sandra Bezic
2009 David Wilson 2000 Igor Shpilband

 Developmental Coach of the YEAR In recognition of new talent and superior teaching technique for a coach who has a career record of helping athletes develop to higher levels of the sport and as human beings.   A nominee for developmental coach must never have had a national champion and should be recognized for their work with skaters below the senior level.

2015 Alexei Kiliakov 2008 Megan Faulkner 2001 Jeff DiGregorio & Pamela Gregory
Elena Novak  Peter Oppegard 2000 Barret Brown 
Dmytri Ilin Traci Coleman   Thomas Lescinski
2014 Todd Sand & Jenni Meno 2007 Mark Mitchell 1999 Tom Zakrajsek
2013 Pamela Gregory Peter Johansson 1998 Igor Shpilband 
2012 Jeff DiGregorio 2006 Mark Mitchell    Elizabeth Coates
2011 Barret Brown Peter Johansson 1997 Megan Faulkner & Jeff DiGregorio
2010 Thomas Lescinski 2005 Tammy Gambill 1996 Peter Oppegard
Tom Zakrajsek 2004 Pamela Gregory 1995 Traci Coleman
Igor Shpilband 2003 Mark Mitchell     
2009 Elizabeth Coates Peter Johansson

Pieter Kollen Sport Science Coaching Award The Pieter Kollen Sport Science Coaching Award is for a coach who utilizes scientific techniques and/or equipment as an integral part of his/her coaching methods and/or is involved in research, development, publication and education in the areas of sport science and medicine as it relates to figure skating and coaching.

2015 Diane Miller 2011 Christy Krall 2007 Debbie Pitsos
2014 Melissa Parker Vriner 2010 Heidi Thibert 2006 Kat Arbour
2013 Christy Krall 2009 Heidi Thibert 2005 Kathy Casey
2012 Kat Arbour 2008 Christy Krall 2004 Mitch Moyer